Art | Blog |

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Pressey Cove (2005)

An older painting I finally managed to photograph.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Friday, January 10, 2014

Monday, December 9, 2013

The Parts of My Dog 15 (2013)

Another larger dog painting, similar to the 14th one that is currently in the Yellow Barn show. I'm hoping to enter this with the other into the Capitol Arts Networks 'Tokens and Sentiments' show later this month.

Friday, November 22, 2013

Show at Amici Miei

I'm going to be hanging four pieces for a show of Montgomery Art Association members at the Amici Miei restaurant this weekend. The opening takes place Sunday, December 1 at 3:00 PM at Amici Miei, 1093 Seven Locks Road near Rockville. The show will remain there until late January.
Little Camp Island, 18" x 24", Acrylic on Panel (2013)

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Experiments

As much as I love painting pictures of Maine, as a sole subject it is difficult to sustain year round from 700 miles away. Plus it will feed back into the landscapes if I can experiment with different approaches and treatments that other subjects elicit. Over the past couple of weeks I've been trying out a few things. First off I painted a large 24" painting of our dog Pappy in action-- it suggests some of that instagram/selfie sensibility with the square format close-up. It was a fun departure, recalling the "Parts of My Dog" series.
I found a big box of old paintings and prints, most unfinished, that I was considering throwing out. Then I decided I should cut them up and weave them together-- I sort of stole the idea after visiting Kevin Hogan's studio in Asheville. The exercise was pretty mindless, but they are kind of interesting. I would have said there wasn't anything to look at in the intact unfinished paintings, but I can look at these woven paintings for hours.

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Sunday, September 8, 2013

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Thursday, August 22, 2013